My Salary in India: How much I earn and What I burn

To better follow my story and progress through 5-to-5-in-12 you need to know what my salary in India is and how much my expenditures and savings are.
My salary in India

If you are following me and my journey towards 5-to-5-in-12, you should be aware of my story, my lifestyle and more importantly what my salary in India is. This will help you to better relate with my story and compare. So here are the details.

I work in a MNC software company in Bangalore, Karnataka, India. I started working from the time I started college (full time, I handled both college and a full time job together as I did not want to burden my parents). My initial salary 10 years ago was a princely sum of Rs.7000 per month. I sustained in Bangalore through my college days on this.

What is my Salary in India

As of now, I am in a mid-management position in a software MNC earning almost a lakh per month. Here is a breakdown of my pay:

WhatHow much
Basic Salary41525
House Rent Allowance20763
Flexible Allowance13775
Company Leased Vehicle12700
Fuel, Transport and Car Maintenance12500
Telephone, Broadband allowance1250
Sodexo (Food coupons)1800
PF deduction-4983
Professional Tax-200
Income Tax (TDS)-2929
Total In Hand per Month96,201

How I burn

Now that you know what my Salary in India is, here are my fixed expenditures that goes out every month

WhatHow much
Home Loan35200
Parents (I am a good boy!)15000
Credit Card (fuel, groceries, shopping,
doc, travel and most other expenses)
Phone, Internet, Electricity etc4000
Apartment Maintenance2000
Misc expenses2000
Total Expenditure per Month74,200
Remaining to add into Savings!22,000

Wrapping up

If you go through my lifestyle, you will see that there are a number of luxuries that I treat myself and my family to. I have put a stop to all of that and as of October’19, from the time I have got onto my 5-to-5-in-12 goal, I have rationed myself to only certain splurges every month. Net-net, I should have Rs.22,000 every month to stow away to increase my investments.

That is not all I make every month. I also have Rs.2500, I get as interest to Rs.2,00,000 I have loaned to my family friend. In addition to these, I also make a tonne in cash backs, credit card loyalty points, air miles and more. You will be hearing more from me on all of these as my story unfolds.


Before you go, take a copy of our detailed Finance Planner worth $39 for free

Check your inbox or spam folder to confirm your subscription.


Abhi is a 29 yr old Indian, on FIRE to retire by 40. He has been investing and learning Finance for the past 12 years. After completing Mechanical engineering, he started working in a multi-national Bank and grew to become an AVP. Currently with an IT MNC as a VP. He lives in Bangalore with his wife and their 1 year old daughter. In his free time, Abhi loves to game on the Xbox, watch movies, read and blog.

Exit mobile version